Fav Pandas Hack

A favorite exploratory data analysis hack for Pandas in Python

If you’re following along with me this week, you know I testing out Medium’s short form articles. In this final in a series of three tests, I present one of my favorite exploratory data analysis (EDA) hacks in Pandas and Python.

If you use pd.describe() you know that it produces summary statistics. So, the problem with pd.describe() is that it puts the variable names across the columns of the summary statistics table.

If you have many variables the table is unreadable… it will be too wide for the screen. To fix that, chain an additional method thus: pd.describe().transpose() for the win!

See below, which works better for you?

Image credit: Author’s illustration built in Canva.

--

--

Adam Ross Nelson

Ask about my free career course. I mentor new (💫) and aspiring data scientists enter (🚪) and level up (📈) in the field.