How to Become a Data Scientist: A Guide for Established Professionals

Highlights from the daily stream, The first 10 days

Adam Ross Nelson
9 min readJul 9, 2023

--

TLDR: The book How to Become a Data Scientist published in April. This summer I’m hosting a daily stream sharing information from the book. Here are highlights from the first ten days.

🚨 Read the end where I share a schedule of daily topics to come. 🚨

Become a Data Scientist Stream Overview

To celebrate the book, I started a daily stream in June. Daily streaming is another topic to write about 🤕 🥴 only kidding — I’ve loved it!

Daily Recap of the Streams

I hope others love it too. Here are the highlights.

Read to the end where I share a calendar of the topics you can expect in the upcoming days.

Reflecting On The Steps I Took Into Data Science

The main agenda item for Day 1 was to offer a reading from the book that overviews the true story of how I made my way into data science rather late in my career. Here is a portion of that passage:

An important reason I began writing this book was that I had noticed how other mid- and late-career professionals were seeking to make a similar transition as the one I had made in my late thirties. I went into data science after working primarily in higher education…

--

--

Adam Ross Nelson

Ask about my free career course. I mentor new (💫) and aspiring data scientists enter (🚪) and level up (📈) in the field.