Quality of Life: Happy Anniversary

Making the choice to come out let Adam Ross Nelson live openly. 10 years later he looks back at how he did it.

Adam Ross Nelson
3 min readDec 22, 2018

--

This article originally published in Our Lives Magazine May/June 2009 issue.

Ten years ago I came out to almost everyone in less than twenty-four hours. That was a busy summer. I was a year out of high school, had just turned nineteen, fresh home from a year abroad, preparing to start college, and planning a trip to visit my dad near the headwaters of the Mississippi.

I had spent the previous two years contemplating the prospect of coming out. The hardest part was that coming out meant admitting I hadn’t been fully honest with everyone. I remember a sense of comfort about being different, but admitting a lack of honesty tormented me.

I wondered why gay people even needed to come out in the first place. It was frustrating knowing that being out would have been so much easier if I had just been out from the beginning.

Now I know society denies gay people the privilege of being out from the start of our lives.

I didn’t know any better at the time so I blamed myself for just holding it in. Now I know society denies gay people the privilege of being out from the start of our lives. Not being honest wasn’t my fault because I didn’t hold it in; everyone else assumed it didn’t exist.

--

--

Adam Ross Nelson

Ask about my free career course. I mentor new (💫) and aspiring data scientists enter (🚪) and level up (📈) in the field.