Questions I Ask New + Prospective Data Scientist Clients

Data science is vast and diverse, and to navigate it successfully, one needs more than just technical acumen

Adam Ross Nelson
7 min readOct 22, 2023

--

I love meeting with prospective and aspiring data scientists. Equally, I enjoy meeting with current data science professionals who are looking to level-up in the field. Selfishly, these kinds of meetings help me learn about and better understand the challenges folks face as they look to enter or level up in the field.

Image Credit: Canva’s text to image.

Meeting with potential clients is one of the best ways I can spend my time as a data science career coach.

The other, less selfish reason it is important to meet for a discussion is that often folks have specific questions in mind and are looking for my insights. For example, folks looking to transition into data science might be asking:

  • What salary can I expect after I transition into data science?
  • What will the work be like after I make the transition?
  • What skills do I need to know before the transition? What skills can I focus on learning after the transition?
  • Can I teach myself data science? Do I need a degree? Will a degree help (even if it isn’t necessary)?

--

--

Adam Ross Nelson

Ask about my free career course. I mentor new (💫) and aspiring data scientists enter (🚪) and level up (📈) in the field.